what are the similarities and differences between mentally ill Vs general population? 

Nie

Hi all! I'm a psychiatry trainee who works in a mental institution in Malaysia. 

I'm planning to do an interventional study to reduce stigma in mental health. Stigmatization in mental health is one of the main obstacles which hinder the treatment and recovery process for most of the patients. 

Currently most of the interventions are focusing on mental health literacy (by improving the knowledge towards mental illness, hoping that it will reduce stigma).

The outcome of current studies show that there is no sustainable effect even after improved mental health literacy.

If we trace back the origin of stereotyping, it will be as such : dichotomous labelling ( human capacities to differentiate and to categorise ). This binary thinking leads us to differentiate good vs bad, us vs them. 

My idea is to target on this binary thinking. My initial idea was to show them a video which is focusing on the similarity between in-group and out-group (mentally ill vs general population).

Here's my questions: 

1) what are the similarities and differences between mentally ill Vs general population? 

(My idea is to emphasize the similarities, to reduce the gap in between these two groups) 

2) To those who have been battling with mental illness, what do you think that illness had changed you as a person? 

3) To those who are not diagnosed with mental illness, what do you think about a person who is having mental illness? In which aspect do you think they are different from you? 

I appreciate suggestions and ideas. Please gimme a personal message if you are not comfortable sharing it in public. :wink2:

Cheers guys. :flowers2:

Have a wonderful day people.

From Nie