The Gossip get excited by Mika at Oxegen

so_rococo

The Gossip get excited by Mika at Oxegen

Beth Ditto says it's her 'second most emotional show ever'

3 hours ago

The Gossip revealed they were excited by Mika today at Oxegen Festival today (July 7).

Singer Beth Ditto said that they met the singer backstage.

She told the audience: "Do you know who I met backstage who I've been waiting a long time to meet? Mika! I was very excited. I came in my pants a little bit. I didn't tell him. You know, I'm not very good at keeping cool when I have to."

The Gossip played a furious set that included 'Listen Up!' and 'Jealous Girls'.

Reacting to the small minority of boos the band got after their cover of Wham's 'Careless Whisper', Ditto said: "What I want you to remember is that there's no such thing as perfect. Ever. The most beautiful people in the world are the poorest, most ugly people. The most beautiful music in the world is the most difficult. So if that mean I'm ugly and if that means this band is **** then I'm proud not the be perfect."

Despite this, Ditto revealed that the performance was very special for her.

She said: "We played All Tomorrow's Parties with Sleater-Kinney one year and I've got to say this the second most emotional performance we've ever done. I don't know what you've guys done to me. Maybe I just have really bad PMS."

Before closing with an extended version of 'Standing In The Way Of Control', the group introduced a version of Aaliyah's 'Are U That Somebody?' by saying: "Aaliyah rest in peace. Timbaland live on."

The Gossip played:[/b]

'Eyes Open'

'Jason's Basement'

'Rebel Girl'

'Careless Whisper'

'Listen Up!'

'Coal To Diamonds'

'Jealous Girls'

'Are U That Somebody'

'Yr Mangled Heart'

'Standing In The Way Of Control'

• Replies 21
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic